Bedford Blues will be mixing youth with experience on Wednesday night when they welcome the Army to Goldington Road for the Mobbs Memorial game.

First played in 1921, the Mobbs Memorial game honours Lieutenant Colonel Edgar Mobbs DSO, a true England rugby legend and a genuine hero of World War I. Formerly competed between the East Midlands and the Barbarians, the game now pits the British Army against Bedford Blues and Northampton Saints on alternate years and this year the match falls on Blues’ turf.

The Blues team for the night will feature numerous first team players as well as members of the blues Academy alongside a number of invitational players from Scarlets, Northampton Saints,  Ampthill, Marlborough, Peterborough and Bedford Athletic

Looking ahead to the game, Blues Director of Rugby Mike Rayer said: “The Mobbs match is always a great evening with both sides wanting to play some exciting rugby and give the crowd an excellent night’s entertainment. For us, it is also a good opportunity to give some players a competitive run out and also take a look at some of the lads who have been invited to pull on a Blues shirt for the night.”

Those invitational players heading to Goldington Road on Wednesday night include Scarlets centre Kieran Griffiths who is the nephew of Wales Union and Rugby League star Jonathan Griffiths, along with Marlborough flanker Antony Maka and Devante Onojaife - the brother of former Blue Jordan. Charley Robinson and Ben Wilkinson arrive from Peterborough and Ampthill respectively along with Bedford Ath second rower Nick Thomas. There will also be a family affair on the bench as Paul Tupai laces up the boots once again along with his son, and Northampton Saints scrum half, Connor.

Starting Line-up:
15. Ed Coulson
14 Pat Tapley
13 Kieran Griffiths (Scarlets)
12 Lewis Robling
11 Joe Green
10 Harry Sheppard
9 James Lennon

1. Hayden King
2. Jacob Fields
3. Ben Cooper
4. Ed Taylor (c)
5. Will Carrick-Smith
6. Antony Maka (Marlborough)
7. Alex Rae
8. Devante Onojaife (Northampton Saints)

16. Charley Robinson (Peterborough)
17. Ben Wilkinson (Ampthill)
18. Alex Penny
19. Paul Tupai
20. Nick Thomas (Bedford Ath)
21. Conor Tupai (Northampton Saints)
22. Jake Sharp
23. Chris Czekaj