Loughborough University U21 vs Bedford Blues Academy

Saturday, 16 November, 2013 - 12:30
Academy Academy
Lost 15 - 29

At 10 pts all at half time this game could have gone either way.  The Blues started well, but with two players in the sin bin at the same time, the Blues Academy lost their way in the middle of a disjointed game, to lose by 29pts - 15 to the older students side.

Bedford put pressure on the students straight from the kickoff and took the ball into the L'boro 22.  A quick ruck was won and the ball moved wide for winger Keano van Dieman to score in the right corner.  Some poor tackling from the Blues allowed the students back into the game straight from the kick off. Bedford hit back with a well worked try through pressure through the middle, and a fine pass from centre George Elliott, which allowed van Dieman to hit the line at pace to score his second try.  Bedford then went down to 13 men when prop Tom Webb, and then scrum half Kiearn Duffin, went to the sin bin in separate incidents.  L'boro scored just before half time to make the score 10 pts all.

After twelve minutes of the second half Loughborough scored two tries in quick succession, and in the sixtieth minute scored their final try to have a comfortable lead of 29 points to 10.  However Bedford battled back and it looked as if prop Josh Pieterse had scored under the posts but the referee deemed it to be held up.  After further pressure Pieterse got his reward as again he ran at the Loughborough but this time he barged over to score a deserved try for Bedford, to make the final score 29pts - 15 to the students.

Blues Academy Coach Alan Brown said ... "After a great start to the game, and a great finish, this was a frustrating game for the Blues.  Although this was a good game to watch, it was disappointing from a Blues point of view. We started well but went off the boil and let Loughborough back into the game.  There were some positives to take from the game, with some good individual performances, but we need to manage a game better and play consistently well over the whole 80 minutes"

Josh Pierterse, Josh Taylor, Tom Webb, Matt Norfolk-Clarke, Joss Morgan, Kennett O'Neill, Ryan Brett-Williams, Dan Martin (capt); Kieran Duffin, Michael Phillips; Keano van Dieman, George Elliott, Freddie Henley-Hunter, Luke Hibberd; Dylan van Dieman; Subs: Ollie Dancer, Kieran Frost, Callum Austen, Reece Lane, Ben Calder, Cameron Gregory-Ring, Eric Edwin, Henry Rawlings: 




See more pictures courtesy of Nigel Rudgard at